Vote for a winner. Vote Gagnon.

Vote for
a winner.

Vote Gagnon.

Véronique Gagnon
for ODQ president!

VÉRONIQUE GAGNON
A practicing dentist serving
the population and her profession

Associate owner of Clinique dentaire St-Louis for nearly 20 years, Véronique Gagnon is a general dental practitioner and dental surgeon. She made the leap into this company when she was pregnant with her first child. Married and mother of 2 young men aged 17 and 20, Véronique Gagnon is a lecturer at Université Laval, the institution from which she graduated in 1995.

“Over the years, I have become increasingly involved in the debates of our profession and I am passionate about engagement. I am very familiar with the Ordre team and members of the Board and I want to work with them while tirelessly trying to improve communication between the board of directors and employees.”

Given her fulfilling career of professional involvement and her life as a homemaker and owner-dentist, Véronique Gagnon has unique experience that she wishes to share with the community of dentists and the population of Quebec while she is at the peak of her professional life. Delivering high-quality care, promoting oral health, and enabling better access to care are the reasons behind her decision to run for ODQ president.

A BETTER PRACTICE
FOR THE GOOD OF ALL

Promoting the dental profession

The Ordre des dentistes du Québec (Québec order of dentists) meets high and recognized standards. With the arrival of new technologies, artificial intelligence, and new business models such as American orthodontic banners in the home, ODQ’s role is more crucial than ever. The raison d’être of a professional order is first and foremost to protect the population. Pursuing this noble and above all necessary objective will enable ODQ to maintain its excellent reputation and public confidence in dentists, while remaining a reference for the general public and for public health officials alike.

Managing a dentist’s office can sometimes be a great burden. This is why ODQ must also help dentists flourish in their practice by providing them with the necessary tools and training to practice their profession freely, thus enabling them to innovate and learn from what is done elsewhere to modernize the practice of dentistry and assisting them by taking into account the reality of their practice, whether they are owners or employees of a clinic. There is nothing better than a professionally fulfilled dentist when it comes to improving the health of their patients – or their own.

Dental medicine is a medical specialty. Surgery, either oral or otherwise, is carried out on a human being with specific medical conditions, thus requiring skills in providing proper treatment.

Dental medicine is a medical specialty. Surgery, either oral or otherwise, is carried out on a human being with specific medical conditions, thus requiring skills in providing proper treatment.

Vote for
a winner.

Vote Gagnon.

Véronique Gagnon
for ODQ president!

VÉRONIQUE GAGNON
A practicing dentist serving
the population and her profession

Associate owner of Clinique dentaire St-Louis for nearly 20 years, Véronique Gagnon is a general dental practitioner and dental surgeon. She made the leap into this company when she was pregnant with her first child. Married and mother of 2 young men aged 17 and 20, Véronique Gagnon is a lecturer at Université Laval, the institution from which she graduated in 1995.

“Over the years, I have become increasingly involved in the debates of our profession and I am passionate about engagement. I am very familiar with the Ordre team and members of the Board and I want to work with them while tirelessly trying to improve communication between the board of directors and employees.”

Given her fulfilling career of professional involvement and her life as a homemaker and owner-dentist, Véronique Gagnon has unique experience that she wishes to share with the community of dentists and the population of Quebec while she is at the peak of her professional life. Delivering high-quality care, promoting oral health, and enabling better access to care are the reasons behind her decision to run for ODQ president.

A BETTER PRACTICE
FOR THE GOOD OF ALL

Promoting the dental profession

The Ordre des dentistes du Québec (Québec order of dentists) meets high and recognized standards. With the arrival of new technologies, artificial intelligence, and new business models such as American orthodontic banners in the home, ODQ’s role is more crucial than ever. The raison d’être of a professional order is first and foremost to protect the population. Pursuing this noble and above all necessary objective will enable ODQ to maintain its excellent reputation and public confidence in dentists, while remaining a reference for the general public and for public health officials alike.

Managing a dentist’s office can sometimes be a great burden. This is why ODQ must also help dentists flourish in their practice by providing them with the necessary tools and training to practice their profession freely, thus enabling them to innovate and learn from what is done elsewhere to modernize the practice of dentistry and assisting them by taking into account the reality of their practice, whether they are owners or employees of a clinic. There is nothing better than a professionally fulfilled dentist when it comes to improving the health of their patients – or their own.

Dental medicine is a medical specialty. Surgery, either oral or otherwise, is carried out on a human being with specific medical conditions, thus requiring skills in providing proper treatment.

Dr. Véronique Gagnon

Dentist owner and partner,
Clinique dentaire St-Louis, since 2001

Guest dentist, 1995-2001

Lecturer, Faculty of Dentistry,
Université Laval, since 2002

Expert dentist – consultant and inspector,
RAMQ, 2003-2009

TRAINING

Certificate in Administration, Université Laval, 2003

Doctor of dental medicine, Université Laval, 1995

Training in management HEC-ACDQ, in progress

Training in management, Collège des administrateurs de sociétés
(corporate directors college), September 2018

Congress of the Quebec Interprofessional Council,
participation in 2015, 2017, and 2019

INVOLVEMENT ORDRE DES DENTISTES DU QUÉBEC

Member, since 1995

Board of directors, since 2014

Executive, since 2015

Auditor, since 2019

Vice-President, 2017-2018

Governance, 2017-2018

Ethics and deontology, 2011-2015

OTHER PROFESSIONAL INVOLVEMENT

ACDQ

Member services and communications, 2009-2014

Board of directors, 2001-2003

Rates and nomenclature, 1999-2003

SDQ (Société dentaire de Québec)

President, 2004-2005

Vice-President, 2003-2004

Board of directors, 2001-2006

In charge of the journal l’Articulé, 2001-2004

Doing things in the right order:
prevention and support for dentists

To maintain high-quality standards and promote the profession, ODQ must regulate the work of dentists and the issuance of permits. It must also equip them by encouraging ongoing training and access to relevant and up-to-date documentation, offering support, providing information, and promoting prevention since this is the cornerstone for maintaining quality care and public protection. Other than professional inspections, ODQ therefore has the duty to support its members, for an ounce of prevention is worth a pound of cure.

A solid nexus of support –providing advice on certain issues regarding daily dental practice, such as treatment for patients with special conditions or the establishment of guidelines – also breaks the isolation of dentists who often have to make decisions on their own. Social media represents a preferred means to answer questions from dentists. This is why ODQ must optimize its presence on different digital platforms, enabling it to communicate with its members and the general public.

For better access to care

Recently, children having undergone treatment for cancer won their case concerning the reimbursement of dental expenses linked to adverse effects related to their treatment. The new dental program for CHSLD beneficiaries is also the positive result of a long debate where the general public has emerged a winner. ODQ must therefore continue its efforts in this direction by continuing to promote water fluoridation and the coverage of medically necessary dental care. Currently, extractions before cardiac surgery are not covered by the provincial health insurance plan.

When we discuss oral health, we are also discussing overall health. Among the other issues that deserve the commitment of ODQ members at the present time, we should also mention the lack of access to care for patients who have oral sequelae associated with medical treatments. These glaring needs require concrete action by governments. In this regard, one of the most important roles of ODQ is to maintain open channels of communication and to push for essential public dental care coverage. In some cases, these are even humanitarian interventions.

Vote for a winner.
Vote Gagnon.

CONTACT

Véronique Gagnon

Dentist – Associate Partner
Clinique dentaire St-Louis
T 418 687-5271, extension 24 | C 418 261-7226

veronique@votonsgagnons.com

Feel free to contact me to discuss these exciting topics or to share your ideas, comments, or concerns. I’m a team player and I am seeking the presidency of the Ordre des dentistes du Québec to improve our practice, to promote the public good, and to maintain our excellent reputation. To do so, I need your support.

Votons. Gagnons.

Votons.
Gagnons.

Avec Véronique Gagnon
à la présidence de l’Ordre
des dentistes du Québec.

VÉRONIQUE GAGNON
Une dentiste active au service
de la population et de la profession

Propriétaire associée de la clinique dentaire St-Louis depuis près de 20 ans, Véronique Gagnon est chirurgienne-dentiste généraliste. Elle a d’ailleurs fait le saut dans cette entreprise alors qu’elle était enceinte de son premier enfant. Mariée et mère de deux jeunes hommes aujourd’hui âgés de 17 et 20 ans, Véronique Gagnon est par ailleurs chargée de cours à l’Université Laval où elle a obtenu son diplôme en 1995. 

« Au fil des ans, j’ai pris goût à participer au débat et m’impliquer me passionne. Je connais bien l’équipe de l’Ordre et les membres du CA et j’ai envie de travailler avec eux en essayant toujours d’améliorer la communication entre le conseil d’administration et les employés ».

Avec une carrière remplie par son implication et comme dentiste propriétaire, tout en prenant soin de sa famille, Véronique Gagnon possède une expérience unique dont elle souhaite faire profiter à la communauté des dentistes et à la population du Québec alors qu’elle est au sommet de sa pratique. La prestation de soins de qualité, promouvoir la santé bucco-dentaire et un meilleur accès aux soins sont les raisons qui la motivent à se présenter comme présidente de l’ODQ.

UNE MEILLEURE PRATIQUE
POUR LE BIEN DE TOUS

Valoriser la profession de dentiste

L’Ordre des dentistes du Québec répond à des standards élevés et reconnus. À une époque où l’arrivée de nouvelles technologies, l’intelligence artificielle et de nouveaux modèles d’affaires comme les bannières américaines d’orthodontie à domicile, le rôle de l’ODQ est plus que jamais essentiel. La raison d’être d’un ordre professionnel est d’abord et avant tout la protection de la population. En poursuivant cet objectif noble et surtout nécessaire, c’est ce qui permettra à l’ODQ de maintenir son excellente réputation, la confiance du public envers les dentistes, et de demeurer une référence pour la population et les responsables de santé publique.

La gestion d’un cabinet peut parfois peser lourd. C’est pourquoi L’ODQ doit aussi aider les dentistes à s’épanouir dans leur pratique en leur fournissant les outils et la formation nécessaire pour exercer leur profession librement. Leur permettre d’innover et de s’inspirer de ce qui se fait ailleurs afin de moderniser la pratique de la dentisterie. Les encadrer en tenant compte de la réalité de leur pratique, qu’ils soient propriétaires ou employés d’une clinique. Il n’y a rien de mieux qu’un dentiste épanoui dans sa pratique pour le bien de sa santé et celle de ses patients. 

« La médecine dentaire est une spécialité de la médecine. Une chirurgie, qu’elle soit dans la bouche ou ailleurs sur le corps, elle se fait sur un être humain ayant des conditions médicales spécifiques, ce qui demande des compétences pour donner le bon traitement.»

« La médecine dentaire est une spécialité de la médecine. Une chirurgie, qu’elle soit dans la bouche ou ailleurs sur le corps, elle se fait sur un être humain ayant des conditions médicales spécifiques, ce qui demande des compétences pour donner le bon traitement.»

Votons.
Gagnons.

Avec Véronique Gagnon
à la présidence de l’Ordre
des dentistes du Québec.

VÉRONIQUE GAGNON
Une dentiste active au service
de la population et de la profession

Propriétaire associée de la clinique dentaire St-Louis depuis près de 20 ans, Véronique Gagnon est chirurgienne-dentiste généraliste. Elle a d’ailleurs fait le saut dans cette entreprise alors qu’elle était enceinte de son premier enfant. Mariée et mère de deux jeunes hommes aujourd’hui âgés de 17 et 20 ans, Véronique Gagnon est par ailleurs chargée de cours à l’Université Laval où elle a obtenu son diplôme en 1995. 

« Au fil des ans, j’ai pris goût à participer au débat et m’impliquer me passionne. Je connais bien l’équipe de l’Ordre et les membres du CA et j’ai envie de travailler avec eux en essayant toujours d’améliorer la communication entre le conseil d’administration et les employés ».

Avec une carrière remplie par son implication et comme dentiste propriétaire, tout en prenant soin de sa famille, Véronique Gagnon possède une expérience unique dont elle souhaite faire profiter à la communauté des dentistes et à la population du Québec alors qu’elle est au sommet de sa pratique. La prestation de soins de qualité, promouvoir la santé bucco-dentaire et un meilleur accès aux soins sont les raisons qui la motivent à se présenter comme présidente de l’ODQ.

UNE MEILLEURE PRATIQUE
POUR LE BIEN DE TOUS

Valoriser la profession de dentiste

L’Ordre des dentistes du Québec répond à des standards élevés et reconnus. À une époque où l’arrivée de nouvelles technologies, l’intelligence artificielle et de nouveaux modèles d’affaires comme les bannières américaines d’orthodontie à domicile, le rôle de l’ODQ est plus que jamais essentiel. La raison d’être d’un ordre professionnel est d’abord et avant tout la protection de la population. En poursuivant cet objectif noble et surtout nécessaire, c’est ce qui permettra à l’ODQ de maintenir son excellente réputation, la confiance du public envers les dentistes, et de demeurer une référence pour la population et les responsables de santé publique.

La gestion d’un cabinet peut parfois peser lourd. C’est pourquoi L’ODQ doit aussi aider les dentistes à s’épanouir dans leur pratique en leur fournissant les outils et la formation nécessaire pour exercer leur profession librement. Leur permettre d’innover et de s’inspirer de ce qui se fait ailleurs afin de moderniser la pratique de la dentisterie. Les encadrer en tenant compte de la réalité de leur pratique, qu’ils soient propriétaires ou employés d’une clinique. Il n’y a rien de mieux qu’un dentiste épanoui dans sa pratique pour le bien de sa santé et celle de ses patients. 

« La médecine dentaire est une spécialité de la médecine. Une chirurgie, qu’elle soit dans la bouche ou ailleurs sur le corps, elle se fait sur un être humain ayant des conditions médicales spécifiques, ce qui demande des compétences pour donner le bon traitement.»

Dre Véronique Gagnon

Dentiste propriétaire et associée,
Clinique dentaire St-Louis, depuis 2001

Dentiste invitée, 1995-2001

Chargée de cours, Faculté de médecine dentaire,
Université Laval, depuis 2002

Dentiste expert-conseil et inspecteur,
RAMQ, 2003-2009

Formations

Certificat en Administration, Université Laval, 2003

DMD, Université Laval, 1995

Formation en gestion HEC-ACDQ, en cours

Formation en gouvernance,
Collège des administrateurs de sociétés, sept 2018

Congrès du conseil interprofessionnel du Québec,
participation en 2015, 2017 et 2019

IMPLICATIONS ORDRE DES DENTISTES DU QUÉBEC

Membre, depuis 1995

Conseil d’administration, depuis 2014

Exécutif, depuis 2015

Audit, depuis 2019 

Vice-présidente, 2017-2018

Gouvernance, 2017-2018

Éthique et déontologie, 2011-2015

AUTRES IMPLICATIONS PROFESSIONNELLES

ACDQ

Services aux membres et des communications, 2009-2014

Conseil d’administration, 2001-2003

Tarifs et nomenclature, 1999-2003

SDQ (Société dentaire de Québec)

Présidente, 2004-2005

Vice-présidente, 2003-2004

Conseil d’administration, 2001-2006

Responsable du Journal l’Articulé, 2001-2004

Faire les choses dans l’ordre :
la prévention et le soutien auprès des dentistes

Afin de maintenir des standards de qualité élevés et de valoriser la profession, l’ODQ doit encadrer le travail des dentistes et la délivrance de permis. Elle doit par ailleurs les outiller en favorisant la formation continue et l’accès à de la documentation pertinente et actualisée. Offrir du support, informer et faire de la prévention auprès des dentistes puisqu’elle est la clé de voûte pouvant maintenir la qualité des soins et la protection du public. Outre l’inspection professionnelle, l’ODQ a donc le devoir d’accompagner ses membres dans le but de prévenir plutôt que guérir.

Un bon encadrement, c’est aussi briser l’isolement des dentistes souvent seuls dans leurs décisions. Leur donner des conseils sur certains enjeux de leur pratique au quotidien comme la prise en charge d’une condition particulière chez un patient, ou la mise en place de lignes directrices. Les médias sociaux représentent par ailleurs un moyen privilégié pour répondre aux questions des dentistes. C’est pourquoi l’ODQ doit optimiser sa présence sur les différentes plateformes numériques lui permettant de communiquer avec ses membres et le public en général.

Pour une meilleure accessibilité aux soins

Récemment, les enfants ayant subi des traitements pour un cancer ont obtenu gain de cause concernant le remboursement des frais dentaires reliés aux séquelles de leurs traitements. Le nouveau programme dentaire pour les bénéficiaires de CHSLD est aussi un résultat positif d’un long débat au profit de la population. L’ODQ doit donc poursuivre ses efforts dans ce sens en poursuivant la promotion de la fluoration de l’eau et de la couverture des soins dentaires médicalement requis – actuellement, les extractions avant une chirurgie cardiaque ne sont pas couvertes par le régime de l’assurance maladie.

Parler de santé bucco-dentaire, c’est aussi parler de santé globale. Parmi les autres enjeux qui méritent l’engagement des membres de l’ODQ à l’heure actuelle, on pense aussi au manque d’accès aux soins pour les patients ayant des séquelles bucco-dentaires associées à des traitements médicaux. Ces besoins criants nécessitent des gestes concrets de la part des gouvernements. Ainsi, l’un des rôles les plus importants de l’ODQ est de maintenir les canaux de communication ouverts et de faire pression pour que la population puisse bénéficier de soins dentaires essentiels. Dans certains cas, il s’agit même de gestes humanitaires. 

Votons.
Gagnons.

CONTACT

Véronique Gagnon

Dentiste – Propriétaire associée
Clinique dentaire St-Louis

T 418 687-5271, poste 24 | C 418 261-7226

veronique@votonsgagnons.com

N’hésitez pas à me contacter pour discuter de ces sujets passionnants ou pour me faire part de vos idées, vos commentaires ou vos préoccupations. J’aime travailler en équipe et je sollicite la présidence de l’Ordre des dentistes du Québec pour l’amélioration de notre pratique, le bien du public et pour maintenir notre excellente réputation. Pour y arriver, j’ai besoin de votre appui.

Prenez connaissance de mes intentions comme candidate à la présidence de l’ODQ.

Visionnez ma présentation :

Voir sur Viméo